OUR FRUIT - Citron (citrus medica L. )

 

The Alimea co-op was named after one of the island's iconic fruit crops : "a limia" or "alimea," which means citron.

 

The origins

The species originates from the Himalayas and Indochina, where citron trees still flourish in the wild.

Citron was the first citrus fruit to reach Europe. It was brought back from Persia by the Greeks during the 3rd century B.C. Strangely enough, it is also one of the least known citrus fruits, except amongst grandmothers who used them in focaccia and fruit cake, as well as typical Corsican food connoisseurs.

Citron is an enormous fruit, sometimes tipping the scale at 2-3 kilogrammes. It has the appearance of a huge deformed lemon, with a dense and very thick white skin to the point where there is almost no pulp (it is not very juicy and full of seeds). All of these attributes make it undesirable for fresh consumption. However, its subtle aroma is incomparable ! Its skin can be candied in sugar or alcohol (liqueurs).

The citron variety found in Corsica is typical of the island and very much in demand because of its low acidity and refined aroma. Its cultivation reached its peak at the end of the 19th century, with a thousand hectares planted and expanding well outside of Corsica.

 

Use

Citron, or more specifically its thick skin, including peel, is used in the preparation of marmalades, fruit pastes and candied fruit.

To achieve this, the fruits are first soaked in brine to remove the skin's bitterness. Traditionally, whole or cut citrons were placed in barrels filled with seawater. A large part of the harvest was sold at this stage and headed for Bastia in brine barrels to be sold to confectioners. After rinsing, the candying process began in successive soakings in sugar syrup, a long process requiring quite exceptional skills to achieve outstanding results.

Candied citron can be consumed as is (whole fruit) or used for cooking and baking (diced or cut).

Citron liqueur (cédratine) is prepared with fresh peel and a good spirit.

 

Cultivation

Corsica's Mediterranean climate is conducive to citron cultivation on the coast.

The tree is small (3 to 4 meters high), its branches are prickly and its flowers are in bloom year-round.

Citron orchards are found at an altitude below 300 meters, in areas protected from occasional frost, since this citrus fruit is especially sensitive to cold. Protection from prevailing winds with hedges, walls or other windbreaks is also vital to prevent the tree's thorns from damaging the fruits.

Harvest occurs between the months of September and November.

 

 

Use

Given its sharp bitterness, citron is rarely used fresh. All of the richness of its aroma comes out with candying, baking, confectionery or decorating. It is also ideal for marmalades and liqueurs.

 

See our recipes :

 

 

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

 

 

 

Citrus fruit | Citron | Lemon | Clementine | Kumquat | Mandarin | Orange | Bitter orange | Grapefruit
Home | Why Alimea ? | Our approach | Life at the orchard | Tips | Things to know | A few websites | Sitemap | Contacts
Our fruit | Production calendar | Printable sheets

ALIMEA - Organic fruit from Corsica - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tel. : +33 (0)4 95 38 88 74

Tous nos fruitsAgrumes - Le cédrat (citrus medica L. )

 

La coopérative Alimea a pris son nom d’une des cultures fruitières emblématiques de l’île :"a limia" ou "alimea", le cédrat.

 

L'origine

Le berceau de l’espèce se trouve en Himalaya et en Indochine où l’on trouve encore des cédratiers sauvages.

Le cédrat est le premier agrume à atteindre l’Europe. Il a été ramené de Perse par les Grecs au IIIe siècle avant JC. Paradoxalement c’est un des moins connus si l’on excepte les grands-mères qui préparaient fougaces et brioches aux fruits confits et amateurs de produits corses identitaires.

Le fruit du cédratier est énorme et pèse parfois 2-3 kilogrammes, comme un énorme citron déformé, le blanc de la peau est dense et très épais au point qu’il n’a quasiment sans pulpe (peu juteuse et pleine de pépins). Toutes ces caractéristiques n’incitent pas à sa consommation en fruit frais de table… mais son parfum subtil est inimitable ! Sa peau se consomme confite au sucre ou à l’alcool (liqueurs).

La variété de cédrat de Corse est typique de l’île et très recherchée pour son absence d’acidité la finesse de son arôme. Sa culture a connu son apogée à la fin du XIX siècle avec un millier d’hectare plantés et un rayonnement bien au-delà de la Corse.

 

Utilisation

Le cédrat, ou plus précisément sa grosse peau incluant le zeste, est utilisé pour la préparation de confitures et pâtes de fruit et fruits confits.

Pour cela les fruits sont d’abord mis à macérer en saumure afin d’éliminer l’amertume de la peau. Traditionnellement les cédrats entiers ou coupés étaient mis en tonneaux remplis d’eau de mer. Une bonne part des récoltes étaient vendue à ce stade et embarquée à Bastia en tonneaux de saumure pour être vendue aux confiseurs. Une fois rincés intervient le confisage dans des bains successifs de sirop de sucre, opération longue et qui requiert tout un savoir faire pour un résultat d’exception.

Le cédrat confit se consomme tel quel (fruit entier) ou s’utilise en cuisine et pâtisserie (cubes et morceaux)

La cédratine "liqueur de cédrat" est préparée à partir du zeste frais et d’une bonne eau de vie.

 

Culture

Le climat méditerranéen de la Corse rend possible la culture du cédrat à l’étage littoral.

L’arbre est de petite taille (3 à 4 mètres de haut), ses branches sont épineuses et ses fleurs sont présentes toute l’année.

Les vergers de cédratiers sont localisés en dessous de 300 mètres d’altitude, dans des zones abritées du gel occasionnel car c’est un agrume particulièrement sensible au froid. La protection des vents dominants par des haies, murets ou autres brise-vents est également indispensable pour éviter que les épines de l’arbre ne blessent les fruits.

La récolte s’effectue entre le mois de septembre et le mois de novembre.

 

Utilisation

Très amer, le cédrat est rarement utilisé frais. Il dégage toute la richesse de son arôme confit ou utilisé en pâtisserie, en confiserie ou à des fins décoratives. Il est également idéal pour réaliser confiture et liqueurs.

 

Voir nos recettes :

 

 

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

Cédrats bio corses - Alimea

 

 

 

Agrumes | Cédrat | Citron | Clémentine | Kumquat | Mandarine | Orange | Orange amère | Pomelo
Accueil | Présentation | Démarche | La vie du verger | Les plus | Savoirs | Liens | Plan du site | Contacts
Tous nos fruits | Calendrier | Espace professionnels

ALIMEA - Fruits corses issus de l'agriculture biologique - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tél. : 04 95 38 88 74